Connect with us

Berlinale 2012: CAESAR MUST DIE Won Golden Bear

Movie News

Berlinale 2012: CAESAR MUST DIE Won Golden Bear

Paolo & Vittorio Taviani

Caesar Must Die (Cesare deve morire), by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani, a docu-fiction about criminals performing Shakespeare, won Golden Bear, the top prize of the 62nd Berlin International Film Festival, care of a jury led by Mike Leigh. One of our favorite films at the Berlinale 2012 – Caesar – was picked up for US release by Adopt Films. The other winners in the main competition were spread out to 6 other films. Barbara by Christian Petzold won Silver Bear for best director and Miguel GomesTabu won the Alfred Bauer Prize. Nikolaj Arcel‘s A Royal Affair was the only winner of multiple awards, taking Silver Bear for best actor and one for the best screenplay. Here’s the full list of announced winners across all sections:
  • Golden Bear: Caesar Must Die, by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani
  • Silver Bear – The Jury Grand Prize: Just The Wind, by Bence Fliegauf
  • Silver Bear – Best Director: Christian Petzold for Barbara
  • Silver Bear – Best Actress: Rachel Mwanza for War Witch
  • Silver Bear – Best Actor: Mikkel Boe Folsgaard for A Royal Affair
  • Silver Bear – Best Screenplay: Arcel and Rasmus Heisterberg for A Royal Affair
Alfred Bauer Prize: Tabu, by Miguel Gomes Special Mention: Sister, by Ursula Meier Crystal Bear for the Best Kplus Feature Film: ARCADIA, by Olivia Silver (USA) Special Mention: Kikoeteru, furi wo sita dake, by Kaori Imaizumi (Japan) Crystal Bear for the Best Kplus Short Film: Julian, by Matthew Moore (Australia) Special Mention: B I N O, by Bille Pleffer (Australia) Grand Prix of the Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk for the Best Feature Film, endowed with 7,500 Euro: Kauwboy, by Boudewijn Koole (Netherlands) Special Mention: GATTU, by Rajan Khosa (India) Special Prize of the Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk for the Best Short Film, endowed with 2,500 Euro: B I N O, by Bille Pleffer (Australia) Special Mention: L, by Thais Fujinaga (Brazil) Panorama Section Audience Award, Fiction Film:
  • First Place: Parada (The Parade), by Srdjan Dragojevic (Serbia, Republic of Croatia, Macedonia, Slovenia)
  • Second Place: Diaz – Don’t Clean Up This Blood, by Daniele Vicari (Italy, Romania, France)
  • Third Place: Xingu, by Cao Hamburger (Brazil)
Panorama Section Audience Award, Documentary Film:
  • First Place: Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present, by Matthew Akers (USA)
  • Second Place: Call Me Kuchu, by Malika Zouhali-Worral and Katherine Fairfax Wright
  • Third Place: La Vierge, les Coptes et Moi, by Namir Abdel Messeeh (France, Qatar, Egypt)
Short Film DAAD Scholarship Award: The Man That Got Away, by Trevor Anderson (Canada) EFA Nominee Berlin (Best European Short Film): Vilaine Fille Mauvais Garcon, by Justine Triet Dialogue in Perspective Prize (for French-German cultural dialogue): This Ain’t California, by Marten Persiel Teddy Award For Best Feature Film – Keep The Lights On, by Ira Sachs Teddy Award For Best Documentary – Call Me Kuchu by Malika Zouhall-Worrall and Katherine Fairfax Wright Teddy Award For Best Short Film – Loxoro, by Claudia Llosa Teddy Award Jury Prize – Jaures, by Vincent Dieutre Special Teddy Awards: Mario Montez and Ulrike Ottinger
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



To Top