Connect with us

FRUITVALE Takes Grand Jury Prize At Sundance 2013

Movie News

FRUITVALE Takes Grand Jury Prize At Sundance 2013

Fruitvale Yesterday at Park City, the awards were handed out with one of the hotly buzzed titles of the festival taking two major prizes. The intense drama Fruitvale won both the Audience Award and U.S. Dramatic Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival, which reminds of when Precious won both in 2009, a year before it went on to become a Best Picture Oscar nominee. The Ryan Coogler‘s film tells the story of the hours leading up to New Year’s Day in 2009, when the 22-year-old Oscar Grant was pulled off a rowdy BART train at the Fruitvale station and was shot in the back, dying from his wounds. The former chairman of 20th Century Fox, Tom Rothman said when presenting the prize:
This will not be the last time you guys walk to a podium.
Well, this statement suggests that history may well be getting ready to repeat itself. Steve Hoover‘s doc Blood Brother also won both the Audience Award and Grand Jury Prize in its respective category. The Sundance documentary winner centers on a young man assisting HIV-positive children in India. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, who brought his directorial debut, Don Jon’s Addiction to the fest, opened the ceremony by speaking:
This isn’t basketball. This is the movies. There are no winners and losers.
Find the list of winners below:   Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic: Fruitvale, directed by Ryan Coogler Grand Jury Prize, Documentary: Blood Brother, directed by Steve Hoover World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic: Jiseul, directed by Muel O World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary: A River Changes Course, directed Kalyanee Mam Dramatic Audience Award: Fruitvale, directed by Ryan Coogler Documentary Audience Award: Blood Brother, directed by Steve Hoover World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award: Metro Manila, directed by Sean Ellis World Cinema Documentary Audience Award: The Square, directed by Jehane Noujaim The Best of NEXT Audience Award: This Is Martin Bonner, directed by Chad Hartigan Directing Award, Dramatic: Jill Solloway, Afternoon Delight Directing Award, Documentary: Zachary Heinzerling, Cutie and the Boxer World Cinema Directing Award, Dramatic: Sebastián Silva, Crystal Fairy World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary: Tinatin Gurchiani, The Machine Which Makes Everything Disappear Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award: Lake Bell, In a World World Cinema Screenwriting Award: Barmak Akram, Wajma (An Afghan Love Story) Documentary Editing Award: Matthew Hamachek, Gideon’s Army World Cinema Documentary Editing Award: Ben Stark, The Summit Excellence in Cinematography Award, Dramatic: Bradford Young, Ain’t Them Bodies Saints and Mother of George Excellence in Cinematography Award, Documentary: Richard Rowley, Dirty Wars World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic: Michal Englert, Lasting World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary: Marc Silver & Pau Esteve Birba, Who Is Dayani Cristal? Special Jury Prize: Dramatic (Acting): Miles Teller & Shailene Woodley, The Spectacular Now Special Jury Prize: Dramatic (For Sound Design) Shane Carruth & Johnny Marshal, Upstream Color Special Jury Prizes: Documentary: Inequality For All, directed by Jacob Kornbluth American Promise directed by Joe Brewster & Michèle Stephenson World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer, directed by Mike Lerner & Maxim Pozdorovkin World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Dramatic Circus directed by Srdan Golubovic Alfred P. Sloan Prize Computer Chess, directed by Andrew Bujalski The Short Film Audience Award Catnip: Egress to Oblivion, directed by Jason Willis The Short Film Grand Jury Prize: The Whistle, directed by Grzegorz Zariczny The Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction: Whiplash, directed by Damien Chazelle The Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction: The Date, directed by Jenni Toivoniemi The Short Film Jury Award: Non-fiction: Skinningrove, directed by Michael Almereyda The Short Film Jury Award: Animation: Irish Folk Furniture, directed by Tony Donoghue A Short Film Special Jury Award for Acting: Joel Naglein in Palimpsest A Short Film Special Jury Award: Until the Quiet Comes, directed by Kahlil Joseph Joseph Gordon-Levitt -- Sundance 2013 Source: The Playlist
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



To Top