Connect with us

British Independent Film Awards Winners

Red Carpet

British Independent Film Awards Winners

British Independent Film Awards The winners of the 11th British Independent Film Awards have been announced on Sunday, November 30, 2008 which were handed in London. “Nominations and award winners prove that filmmaking in Britain is alive and well”, says Elliot Grove, the founder of Raindance and the British Independent Film Awards. “Slumdog Millionaire” directed by Danny Boyle (“Trainspotting”) and Steve McQueen’s “Hunger” both won three honors at the BIFA. “Slumdog Millionaire” won the top two awards – Best British Independent Film and Best Director. Steve McQueen with his movie “Hunger” was nominated for both Best Debut Director and Best Screenplay and won Douglas Hickox award for debut director. Michael Fassbender who plays Bobby Sands in “Hunger” won prize for Best Actor. The third prize for this movie is for Best Technical Achievement for Cinematography – Sean Bobbitt.
In Bruges” written and directed by Martin McDonagh won one but great, screenplay award, of six nominations: Best Actor – Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson, Best British Independent Film, Best ScreenplayMartin McDonagh, Best Supporting Actor – Ralph Fiennes and Best Technical Achievement – Jon Gregory (for editing). Israeli animated “Waltz With Bashir” written and directed by Ari Folman is the winner in Best Foreign Film category at the British Independent Film Awards. It wasn’t a great night for director Eran Creevy’s low-budget “Shifty,” about 24 hours in the life of a crack dealer, with five nominations but without award. Take a look at the list of the winners: BEST BRITISH INDEPENDENT FILM – “Slumdog Millionaire” BEST DIRECTOR – Danny Boyle – “Slumdog Millionaire” THE DOUGLAS HICKOX AWARD [BEST DEBUT DIRECTOR] – Steve McQueen – “Hunger” BEST SCREENPLAY – Martin McDonagh – “In Bruges” BEST ACTRESS – Vera Farmiga – “The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas”” BEST ACTOR – Michael Fassbender – “Hunger” BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – Alexis Zegerman – “Happy-Go-Lucky” BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – Eddie Marsan – “Happy-Go-Lucky” MOST PROMISING NEWCOMER – Dev Patel – “Slumdog Millionaire” BEST ACHIEVEMENT IN PRODUCTION – “The Escapist” RAINDANCE AWARD – “Zebra Crossings” BEST TECHNICAL ACHIEVEMENT – Cinematography – Sean Bobbitt – “Hunger” BEST DOCUMENTARY – “Man on Wire” BEST BRITISH SHORT – “Soft” BEST FOREIGN FILM – “Waltz with Bashir” THE RICHARD HARRIS AWARD (for Outstanding Contribution to British Film) – David Thewlis THE VARIETY AWARD – Michael Sheen THE SPECIAL JURY PRIZE – Joe Dunton

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Red Carpet



To Top